The ‘everything starts with C’ salad

Okay not everything, but it’s pretty close.

Living so close to the CBD in Sydney there never seems to be a shortage of available pubs for lunch. And luckily for me and my student budget, most of them do $10 meals during lunch on Monday to Friday. Which is really quite generous and also makes a lot of sense, because who else is really going to be at a pub at 1:30 on a Tuesday?

Students.

But we love it. I have my old local, the Abercrombie,  my new local, the Paddington Inn, my local that’s a little bit further away, the Imperial, my local when I’m in the mood for food with a more Mexican flair, the Norfolk…and the list goes on.

At most of these pubs the $10 lunches are really nice as well, the other day I had a haloumi salad with chickpeas and cherry tomatoes. (I told you I was on a haloumi kick). At the Abercrombie you can get chicken schnitzel, a plate of nachos, tropical calamari salad and peri peri chicken. It’s not like they simply dredge up some food that they wouldn’t normally serve because it’s being sold at a cheaper price. We feel the love from the pubs offering these lunchtime specials, and clearly we love them right back.

Even though a $10 lunch in Sydney is a great deal, it can be even cheaper. When I was having lunch at the Norfolk a while ago I had a delicious Mexican Chicken Salad and made a note of the ingredients in my iPhone. And the other day when I was craving it again, I decided to just head to the grocery store, buy all the ingredients I had listed and re-create it myself. And I realized I could make it for only $4.16 a serve. So the next time you’re down at your local enjoying a great meal, whether you’ve scored a sweet $10 deal or are paying regular prices, just jot down the ingredients in your phone and try to re-make it at home. It’ll most likely be cheaper, healthier and it’s a great way to get inspiration for meals during the week.

Enjoy,

Allie

The ‘everything starts with C’ salad
Serves 6

1/2 red cabbage
1 medium carrot
1 can of sweet corn
1/2 cup reduced-fat cheddar cheese
1 packet of Taco Seasoning
2 chicken breasts
50g of cashews
1 avocado
1 lime

Sprinkle about 1/4 of the taco seasoning over the raw chicken and rub it so it coats both breasts evenly. Cook the chicken on a pre-heated barbecue until cooked all the way through.

While the chicken is cooking, and don’t forget to check on it, cut the cabbage into small pieces. You can cut it length-ways into strips and then continue chopping until all the pieces are bite-size. Put the cabbage into a large salad bowl. Use a grater to grate the carrot into small pieces and add to the bowl. Drain the corn and add to the bowl. Add the cashews, cheese and diced avocado. Cut the lime in half, squeeze the juice over the salad and mix all the ingredients together. When the chicken is cooked cut it into strips and place it on top of the salad.

IMG_5381

IMG_5383

Leave a comment

Filed under Dinner, Lunch, Recipe

Leave a Reply

