Haloumi with mushrooms and asparagus

For a while I really wasn’t sure what the fuss was over haloumi. Honestly I hadn’t even heard about it much before coming to Sydney. Over here though you can find it everywhere. I guess it has taken over the place of feta or goat’s cheese in salads across the city. To be honest, I just kept seeing the name everywhere and for ages I thought it was a type of mushroom…not a type of cheese. But turns out, it is a cheese and it is darn tasty. So I decided to cook some for myself. This recipe is probably best done on the grill, haloumi has a very high melting point which makes it ideal for grilling or frying, but I don’t own a grill so I pan-fried this salty little treat. I simply seasoned it with some lemon juice, salt and pepper and paired it with some steamed asparagus and sauteed mushrooms. Simple, easy, done. And it’s under 500 calories.

Enjoy!

Haloumi with mushrooms and asparagus
Serves 4

Ingredients:
3 tbs olive oil
1 tbs lemon juice
Cracked black pepper
400g button mushrooms, quartered
250g haloumi, sliced
18 asparagus spears
1/2 tsp lemon zest
1/4 cup slivered almonds, toasted

Method

1. Preheat grill pan or barbecue.
2. Combine oil, lemon juice and pepper in a small bowl. Toss through mushrooms and haloumi.
3. Place mushrooms and haloumi on grill pan or barbecue and cook, 5 to 7 minutes, turning regularly to prevent haloumi from burning.
4. Steam asparagus, 2 to 3 minutes.
5. Arrange mushrooms, haloumi and asparagus on serving plate and scatter on lemon zest and almonds.

45159_3109896301409_711383012_nEnjoy,

A

 

3 Comments

Filed under Dinner, Lunch, Recipe

3 responses to “Haloumi with mushrooms and asparagus

  1. I’ve actually never heard of haloumi! It sounds like salami, so that’s what I first thought of when I read your post’s title… Oops? Guess I’ll have to hunt around to see if I can find any in our local grocery stores!

    • Haha just be careful, once you try it you may want to make everything with it! I’m going through a haloumi phase right now, hopefully it’s not too hard for you to find!! x

      • I don’t have too many specialty stores nearby, but when I visit the city, I’ll check for it there too. Right now my phase is peanut butter! I want to eat it for every snack and meal. Funny, the cravings and phases we go through!

Leave a Reply

